Skip to content


Driving Directions Comoros

COMOROS consists of three volcanic islands in the Indian Ocean sit­uated between mainland Africa and Madagascar. Physically, four islands make up the group, but the island of Mayotte remained a French depen­dency when the three western islands became a federal Islamic republic in 1975.

Driving Directions

The islands are mostly forested, and the tropical climate is affected by Indian monsoon winds from the north. There is a wet season from November to April which is accompanied by cyclones.

Only small areas of the islands are cultivated, and most of this land belongs to for­eign plantation owners. The chief product was formerly sugar cane, but now vanilla, copra, maize, cloves, and essential oils are the most impor­tant products. The forests provide timber for building, and there is a small fishing industry. The coelacanth, a primitive bony fish, previously thought to have been extinct for millions of years, was discovered living in the seas off Comoros.

Google maps Comoros

Click here for Comoros Google maps, MapQuest & more detailed country facts.